On Sunday July 3, 2011 Marshall Vian Summers spoke openly to the world. It was a live broadcast and was the first public speaking event held at the humble Sanctuary of the New Message from God.

When I first began studying the New Message from God Teachings and began the formal practice of Steps to Knowledge in early 2009, I understood at some deep level who Marshall Vian Summers was and what he was doing in the world. Before even meeting him I understood his Divinity. I understood that he was receiving and delivering an authentic communication from the Divine for the entire world. And unlike previous Messengers through whom God has spoken, Marshall is speaking to the entire world, a mostly literate world, a world advanced in technology and a world now beginning to engage with a vast universe full of intelligent life.

That Sunday morning I saw a man standing in front of loved ones, students and strangers making an audacious proclamation to the world. I saw his vulnerability. I saw the emotional struggle of being required by God to stand and proclaim, “I am the Messenger of God.”

I can’t even begin to imagine what that would be like. 

Years ago I participated in a conference where a friend was going to speak in front of a large group of people. She was speaking to people who were attending to hear her and others like her. They paid for the event, they held similar beliefs, ideas and assumptions and were ready to welcome what she had to say. Even so, moments before she prepared to go on stage she experienced such significant anxiety that she vomited in the woman’s room.

As Marshall stood in front of the people in attendance he looked pale and shaky. His mouth twitched slightly as he began to speak. It was then that I understood the burden of what he has been called to do. Even though I inexplicably understood him to be the Messenger, on that day, for the first time, I saw his humanity. I saw the man. 

Unlike my friend, all who hear him will not welcome him. Many will not be ready to hear his Message. Many will deny, reject and denounce the Message itself and Marshall personally.

But, like myself, others will respond. Others will welcome him and come to know him while he is alive in the world. Others will recognize the Truth in the Message.

His destiny as the one to receive the New Message from God is not a role many of us would welcome easily. The burden of the Messenger is great. And for those whom this Message is meant to reach, the responsibility is great as well – to receive the New Message from God and the Messenger.   

I have witnessed his generosity, his humility, his Divinity and his struggle. He has no choice. He has been called. In this place of “no choice” is the greatest gift. He must make this Proclamation. It is his destiny. It is a Message for the entire world. There are those of us who have our own role to play and must recognize, receive and carry the gift of the Revelation into the future. That is our destiny. The world and all of humanity is waiting.

