I think back over my life and see how many times I consciously tried to define purpose for myself. I would look at people or at a career and say to myself “That looks like a good way to live. I’ll try that.”

I was searching for a way of being in the world that worked based on what looked like it worked for other people. I tried many different paths, jobs, modes of dress and expression. Nothing seemed to really work for me for very long. I also found that it really didn’t work for them either. It was never as satisfying as it appeared from a distance.

It was like trying on different hats. There are so many ways to live in the world. Much of it I tried. It was always disappointing. It did not lead me to a place of inner strength or certainty. There was always something missing.

It is refreshing to know that I do not have to define my purpose for myself. There is still the impulse to do this at times. But I bring myself back to Knowledge and following this path. I am beginning to really know that my purpose is already defined. It just needs to be unearthed. I am beginning to have a direct experience of certainty and increasing trust of Knowledge within me. Knowledge will lead me where I need to go to express this purpose.

“Purpose is something you will understand as you climb higher on the mountain of life. As you gain a greater vantage point, you will understand more of the journey itself, by looking behind and by being increasingly able to anticipate what is up ahead. Purpose is realized by taking the journey. Purpose is something that is waiting for you to discover. Your purpose now it to prepare. It is not to make wonderful definitions for your life. It is not to justify your errors. Purpose is a process; it is not a definition.” p. 47-52. Greater Community Spirituality.

Such a promise this holds for each of us. As I engage in the study and practice of Steps to Knowledge I leave behind old ideas and ways of being in the world that really did not work. As this happens I find a greater more comfortable way of being in the world.

“How do you know that you are engaged in true preparation? Because you are giving yourself to something that you cannot control and you cannot understand, but which you find to be increasingly beneficial as you proceed.” p. 53 Greater Community Spirituality.

This speaks so clearly to the experience of this preparation. Today I will not define my purpose for myself. What a blessing. What a gift.

